Climbing windows for Eduardo Galeano

11 Jun

There are many reasons to admire Eduardo Galeano. For me it came with an understanding of Latin American economics. You can not get a full perspective of Latin American politics or history, without understanding the place of Latin America in global economics from mercantilism to industrialization, capitalism, globalization, and neo-colonization. 

When I discovered Galeano I noticed the poetry in his words. When I opened “Venas Abiertas de Latino America” (Open Veins of Latin America), I was sucked into the way he told the story of Latin America because it was beautiful, sincere, passionate, and empathetic. This was something no academic book was able to give me while a Latin American and Latino Studies major at UCSC. Recently, Chavez introduced Obama to Galeano by giving him this book

Galeano, as a writer and journalist has my respect and admiration. He had to flee both his native-country of Uruguay and then Argentina because of military coups and dictators who did not want his voice in the public. This is very much the story of one of my professors at UCSC, Guillermo Delgado, who had to leave Bolivia bc he was a journalist  for the people. Delgado has recently served as an advisor to Evo Morales, and can you believe that UCSC wants to cut his position. The UCSC Students of Color Colletive added the retention of Delgado to their list of demands from the university. for which they held a hunger strike. Add them on facebook, here

Anyways, I derived from my original story…today, Galeano is speaking at the downtown L.A. Library and I’m arriving several hours before the doors open…i failed to RSVP. Hopefully I get in, even if I have to climb windows. Check out the following clips, this is Galeano remembering womyn thru-out history from Joan of Arc to Violeta Parra


 

 

One Response to “Climbing windows for Eduardo Galeano”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Galeano on a party bus! « - June 15, 2009

    […] Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Climbing windows for Eduardo GaleanoArt elsewhereJune 6: Art ExhibitStreet Art: Beyond the […]

Leave a Reply

